The School of Post Basic Nursing, University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital was officially inaugurated by the Minister for Health, Professor Debo Adeyemi April, 1999 to run Paediatric Nursing and Accident and Emergency Nursing programmes. The first principal of the school is Mrs M. E Onile. Mrs. D. O Omotosho took over headship in 2008 and handed over to Mrs. E. A Fashiku in July, 2014.
In September, 2017, headship was split into two and each programme now operates under separate coordinators appointed by the Hospital Management Mrs F. O Adebiyi was appointed as the first Acting Coordinator of the programme on the 10th September, 2017, an office she holds till date.
Mrs F. O Adebiyi , a Chief Nursing Educator is a registered Midwife and Paediatric Nurse who holds Bachelor of Nursing Science Degree ( Second Class Upper Division) from Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso, and she is presently under a Masters of Maternal and Child Health Nursing degree at Babcock University. Ilisan Remo. She has several years of experience as a Clinician, an Educator and examiner with the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria.
The programme was given full accreditation status in 2015 by the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria, and the School admits 30 students per year, The programme is for a year, and has academic staff strength of lecturers and administrative staff.